The Shem Working – Individual and Group Projects

Home Forums Arboretum Mysticum Forum The Shem Working – Individual and Group Projects

Viewing 22 reply threads
  • Author
      Naha
      Keymaster

Hi Arborists. This thread will be a place to share whatever you are cooking up as a part of this working. If you are looking for collaborators on a project, you can also reach out here.

Click IMG in the toolbar above to post photos.

Douglas
      Participant

Hi, all. I’m struggling a bit to decide what to create through this working. It would be music, probably, but I don’t currently have the means to record what I’d like. I was planning on doing something with leatherworking, instead. But what? I still don’t know.

I’m just getting started with the medium, and I’ve just been doing small, varied projects to develop technique and see what aspects of the craft most appeal to me. I’m imagining a series of small pieces. Something sustainable. But these could work better as a single, slowly progressing piece. I’d love to hear what others are thinking of doing. Get some inspiration. Throw ideas around.

Naha
        Keymaster

Thank you for kicking off this forum! I know a lot of people are in a similar situation, kind of trying to figure out which direction to go with things. Just off-the-cuff the idea of smaller things seems easier to undertake at the beginning, but then maybe one larger ongoing project develops out of it? It’s something to consider that these are 72 individual names that all together make one larger name. Whichever way it works it’s going to be an epic body of work.

LexiSaldin
      Participant

Greetings! I’m hoping to create some sort of imagery with the 72 names that incorporates the concept of the Shechina/Divine Fem within the pillar of fire and the pillar of cloud. Not completely sure what medium to work in just yet.
      https://www.chabad.org/library/article_cdo/aid/2438527/jewish/The-Shechina.htm